4 foot 3 and Sinking

Down at the Lido
Scorching Summer 1970s
Burnt Brown Grass and Scalding Pastel Paving stones,

A cacophony of noise and a thousand melting ice cream cones

I goad my bullies from the poolside

Safe in my white plastic chair.

Blissfully blind and unaware

Of the biggest and baddest of their number

Skulking and smirking behind me.

I am tipped and tossed

Unseated and unnerved

Into the deep end.

12 foot deep

I am 4 foot 3 and sinking,

Not thinking

I can’t swim,

That I might just drown,

But marveling at the way sound has changed.

Flashes of faces, colours and bubbles,
Rough hands grab me.

I am rising.

Then slapped 

Upon the pools tiled edge

Floundering and spluttering.

Big crowd
Floral Prints
Flip Flops and choc ices.
The rough handed man

Is shouting and nearly swearing

“You could’ve bloody killed him”

Still Smirking

Arms aloft
Like an athletic champion
The big bad bully takes a bow.

Summer Stretches Ahead
It’s time I learnt to swim.

Leave a comment